Art in the County celebrating 30th anniversary, opens up call for entry for 2023

(Desirée Decoste/Gazette staff)




The Prince Edward County Arts Council (County Arts) and the Art in the County (AITC) Organizing Committee are excited to mark the 30th anniversary of AITC with the launch of a new logo, new location, and new awards.

With over 100 artworks showcased in a wide range of media, including watercolour, acrylic, oil and encaustic paintings, sculpture, fibre, wood, photography, ceramics, glass and more, AITC is our region’s largest juried group exhibition featuring work by local artists.

Since the shows inception in 1993, AITC has showcased more than 2,500 pieces of juried art, has generated over $380,000 in art sales for County artists, artworks exhibited at AITC have become part of corporate and private collections, and local exposure has led to opportunities at regional and national galleries.

“What better way to celebrate this milestone anniversary than with the launch of a contemporary new logo,” said Christophe Doussot, Art in the County Co-chair. “The design elegantly groups, what we imagine to be, two dimensional artworks to convey our agricultural landscape. It is deeply rooted in place.”

Logo design by Natalie Piper of Inkfly Graphics, Picton.

AITC new logo design by Natalie Piper of Inkfly Graphics, Picton. (Desirée Decoste/Gazette staff)

Art in the County will take place in the Lecture Hall at Base31, 343 County Road 22, Picton. Moving the show to a larger, brighter, and more accessible location would not be possible without the generous support of Base31.

“To be in the heart of this dynamic setting that lives and breathes art will be an incredible experience for artists and audiences alike,” said Amy Shubert, Art in the County Co-chair.

Elizabeth Crombie Real Estate Team, Royal LePage ProAlliance Realty Brokerage returns as Presenting Sponsor for the second consecutive year.

“Libby’s support of our arts community is unparalleled,” said Janna Smith, County Arts Executive Director. “We are so grateful for her leadership and continued support.”

The 30th edition of AITC will be simultaneously presented in-person and online from June 23 to July 2. In-person visitors can view the exhibition at Base31 with free admission, free onsite parking and accessible entry is available. The exhibition will be curated by Vincent Depoivre and Christophe Doussot of Maison Depoivre Gallery.

As in previous years, visitors will also be able to view digital images of this year’s selected artworks on the AITC website. Online shows have the potential to reach a wider audience. Over the last three years, AITC sold artwork to buyers living outside our region, including in Toronto, Hamilton, Owen Sound, Guelph, Kingston, Ottawa, Montreal, and Whistler.

Jurors for this years show and sale are Lisa Creskey, Ceramic Artist & Painter (Chelsea, Quebec), Chung-Im Kim, Textile Artist (Cookstown), and Rick Rivet, Painter (Belleville).

“For this milestone anniversary, we are excited to welcome three internationally acclaimed artists to act as this year’s jury,” said Christophe Doussot, Art in the County Co-chair. “The committee is particularly proud to bring together jury members that mirror the diversity of voices, talents, and art forms that make Art in the County such a special show, year after year.”

Call for entry into AITC is open now. Artist entry deadline for submitting registration form, image(s) and payment is June 9 at 12PM. Visit the AITC website to read eligibility requirements and conditions, including tips on how to photograph artwork. Artists will be required to drop-off artwork at the Lecture Hall on June 18.

Sponsored by Laurie Gruer, Monica Klingenberg & Alysa Hawkins of Chestnut Park Real Estate Limited Brokerage, the Community Arts Builder Award returns in 2023. With nominees chosen by County residents, the Community Arts Builder Award recognizes an individual who has enriched community life through the arts. Past recipients include Sarah Moran, Arts Champion (2022); Kato Wake, Visual Artist & Instructor (2021); Hri Neil, Carbon Art & Design (2020); Krista Dalby, Department of Illumination (2019); and Alice & Peter Mennacher, Blizzmax Gallery (2018). All 2023 nominations must be received by June 9. The Award, which includes a $250 monetary gift.

Five Jurors’ Choice Awards ($250 each) and five Honourable Mentions ($100 each) are supported by local businesses, including 2gallery, Arts on Main Gallery, Books & Company, Family Dentistry@Picton, Magpie Clothing Essentials, Picton Home Hardware, Printcraft, The Eddie Hotel, and The Local Store. Winners to be announced on June 22.

Sponsored by Sage Design & Construction and Welch LLP, the People’s Choice Award and the Children’s Choice Award will be determined by visitor ballots and presented at the close of the exhibition. Winners receive a $250 monetary gift.

The Maison Depoivre Award will be presented to an artist whose work demonstrates risk-taking and originality, technical skill, and is thought provoking. Special attention will be given to the use of colour in a daring, innovative way. The jurors will determine the award recipient from Maison Depoivre’s selection of three finalists. The winner will be invited to display their work at Maison Depoivre Gallery for the rest of the 2023 season, once AITC closes its doors on July 2.

The Carson Arthur Award will be presented to an artist whose work represents, or evokes Nature in an innovative and original way. The jurors will determine the award recipient from Carson Arthur’s selection of three finalists. This award includes a $500 monetary gift for the winning artist and a $500 donation to a local, non-profit organization advocating for the protection of the environment (organization selected by the winning artist).

The two new awards this year are the Akasha Art Project Award and Reno Gallery Award of Excellence.

Akasha Art Projects Award will be presented to an artist whose work represents a fresh and original approach to their artistic expression. Considerations for this award are extended to artists who explore the boundaries of their chosen media through innovative perspectives that evoke and challenge the viewer. Founders of Akasha Art Projects, Kelly Kyle & Sonja Scharf, will choose three finalists and will defer to the jurors of AITC to select the final recipient. The recipient of the award will receive a gift certificate in the amount of $500, redeemable at Akasha Art Projects.

Oeno Gallery Award of Excellence will be given to the creator of one exceptional work, demonstrating creativity and originality, executed with technical fluency and skill, and presented professionally. The winner will be selected by Carlyn Moulton, Owner & Curator, Oeno Gallery. This award has a monetary value of $500.

AITC is grateful for the continued support of McDougall Insurance & Finance and Prince Edward Community Partners, and welcomes The Cape as new Supporting Sponsors. With the support of their wonderful sponsors, the organizing committee is looking forward to showcasing and celebrating the extraordinary talent of local artists in this 30th edition of the show.

For more information about AITC, visit:, call the Prince Edward County Arts Council at (613) 476-8767 or e-mail: [email protected].